Olympia

City Council and Mayor

All seven members of the Olympia City Council are elected to four year terms from the city as-a-whole (not from districts). Positions are non-partisan. The council position terms are staggered, three of them ending at one time and four the next, and elections are held with the Thurston County general election in odd-numbered years. The Mayor is elected by the citizens to that position (Position 1 of the City Council), and votes as one of seven Councilmembers.

The City of Olympia government operates in a Council-Manager form of government, with the Council serving as the Board of Directors setting executive policy. The City Manager is hired by the City Council as the city's Chief Executive Officer. By state law, the Mayor and Councilmembers may not hire, discharge, or direct any administrative staff other than the City Manager.

Position 1 Mayor Cheryl Selby

  • current term runs through 2019
  • Phone (City Council Office): (360) 753-8447
  • Email: cselby@ci.olympia.wa.us

Position 2 Councilmember Jessica Bateman

  • current term runs through 2019
  • Phone (City Council Office): (360) 753-8447
  • Email: jbateman@ci.olympia.wa.us

Position 3 Councilmember Nathaniel Jones, Mayor Pro Tem

  • current term runs through 2019
  • Phone (City Council Office): (360) 753-8447
  • Email: njones@ci.olympia.wa.us 

Position 4 Councilmember Clark Gilman

  • re-elected to this position in November 2017
  • Phone (City Council Office): (360) 753-8447
  • Email: cgilman@ci.olympia.wa.us 

Position 5 Councilmember Lisa Parshley

  • newly elected to this position in November 2017
  • Phone (City Council Office): (360) 753-8447
  • Email: lparshley@ci.olympia.wa.us 

Position 6 Councilmember Renata Rollins

  • Newly elected to this position in November 2017
  • Phone (City Council Office): (360) 753-8447
  • Email: rrollins@ci.olympia.wa.us 

Position 7 Councilmember Jim Cooper

  • re-elected to this position in November 2017
  • Phone (City Council Office): (360) 753-8447
  • Email: jcooper@ci.olympia.wa.us